142nd Preakness


Historic Pimlico Race Course, home of the Preakness Stakes and second oldest racetrack in the nation behind Saratoga, opened its doors on October 25, 1870. Pimlico has hosted many racing icons for over a century; legendary horses such as Man o’ War, Sir Barton, Seabiscuit, War Admiral, Citation, Secretariat and Cigar have thundered down her stretch in thrilling and memorable competition.

Pimlico was ultimately the result of an interesting dinner party proposition made by Maryland’s then Governor, Oden Bowie. In Saratoga, New York in 1868 Bowie and his friends, prominent racing figures, agreed to race horses that were then just yearlings in two years time to commemorate the evening. The winner would host the losers for dinner. Saratoga and the American Jockey Club bid for the event, but Governor Bowie pledged he would build a model racetrack in his home state if the race were to be run in Baltimore. And so, Pimlico was built.



The name “Pimlico” was given to the area by English settlers in Colonial times, although the “Pemblicoe” spelling appeared on the original settlement charter in 1669.

The colonists were from an area near London and brought with them memories of a famous landmark, Olde Ben Pimlico’s Tavern.

Engineered by General John Ellicott, Pimlico was constructed on 70 acres of land, west of Jones Falls; the Maryland Jockey Club purchased the land for $23,500 and built the track for $25,000. On any given race day in the 1800’s Baltimoreans could be seen in horse–drawn carriages parading through Druid Hill Park, then down Green Spring Road and on to the Course.

Later, for greater convenience, a spur was built from Western Maryland Railroad at Arlington to go directly to the grandstand. The racetrack soon became affectionately known as “Old Hilltop”, after a small rise in the infield that was a favorite gathering place for trainers and race enthusiasts to view and cheer on the racers close–up. The infield was a fashionable rendezvous where four–in–hands, “spikes”, tandems, pairs and singles parked and lively guests would congregate between races for a champagne lunch. Today, the nickname remains, but the hill was removed in April 1938 because it obscured the track–level view of the backstretch in the early days of filming races.

In 1904, after a brief hiatus, racing at Pimlico ignited unprecedented recognition and interest from the public and newspapers alike. Race charts began to appear, quite similar to modern day style, instead of mere social reports. Pimlico even survived the anti–gambling movement of 1910, where the sport was banned everywhere except Maryland and Kentucky. Billy Riggs is alleged to have saved eastern racing at this time with his use of the less sinful “French Pools” or pari–mutuel machines instead of bookmarkers and blackboards.

Kentucky Derby winner Always Dreaming will be shipped to Pimlico Race Course early Tuesday morning to begin preparations for the 142nd Preakness on May 20.

He is scheduled to arrive at Baltimore-Washington International Airport at 9:30 a.m.

Under jockey John Velazquez, Always Dreaming, the 9-2 favorite, won the 143rd Kentucky Derby by 2 3/4 lengths over a sloppy track early Saturday evening. It was trainer Todd Pletcher’s second Derby victory and the first for the ownership group of MeB Racing, Brooklyn Boyz, Teresa Viola Stable, St. Elias Stable, Siena Farm and West Point Thoroughbreds headed by Anthony and Mary Ellen Bonomo.

View the full story here


Past Winners
Year Horse Owner Trainer Jockey Breeder
2001 Point Given The Thoroughbred Corp. Bob Baffert Gary L. Stevens The Thoroughbred Corp.
2002 War Emblem The Thoroughbred Corp. Bob Baffert Victor Espinoza C. Nuckols
2003 Funny Cide Sackatoga Stable Barclay Tagg Jose Santos WinStar Farm
2004 Smarty Jones Someday Farm John Servis Stewart Elliott Someday Farm
2005 Afleet Alex Cash is King, LLC Tim Ritchey Jeremy Rose John Martin
2006 Bernardini Darley Stable Thomas Albertrani Javier castellano Darley Stable
2007 Curlin Stonestreet, Padua, Midnight Cry Stables & George Bolton Steve Asmussen Robby Albarado Fair Farm Inc.
2008 Big Brown IEAH Stables and Paul Pompa, Jr. Richard Dutrow, Jr. Kent J. Desormeaux Monticule Farm
2009 Rachel Alexandra Jess Jackson and Harold T. McCormick Steve Asmussen Calvin Borel Dolphus Morrison
2010 Lookin At Lucky Mike Pegram, Karl Watson, Paul Weitman Bob Baffert Martin Garcia Gulf Coast Farms
2011 Shackleford Michael Lauffer & W.D. Cubbedge Dale Romans Jesus Lopez Castanon Michael Lauffer & W.D. Cubbedge
2012 I’ll Have Another J. Paul Reddam Doug F. O’Neill Mario Gutierrez Harvey Clarke
2013 Oxbow Calumet Farm D. W. Lukas Gary Stevens Colts Neck Stable
2014 California Chrome Steve Coburn & Perry Martin Art Sherman Victor Espinoza Steve Coburn & Perry Martin
2015 American Pharoah Zayat Stables Bob Baffert Victor Espinoza Zayat Stables
2016 Exaggerator Big Chief Racing, LLC, Head of Plains Partners LLC J. Keith Desormeaux Kent Desormeaux Joseph B. Murphy
Categorized: News
Navigation Menu